Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Delaware Technical Community College is the governing body of the institution. All members are appointed by the Governor of the State of Delaware with the consent of a majority of the State Senate. Six members are appointed for three-year terms - one from the City of Wilmington, one from New Castle County outside of the City of Wilmington, one from Kent County and one from Sussex County, with the remaining two from anywhere in the State. The seventh member, the Chairperson, is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of, the Governor. No more than four members may be of the same political party. The Board of Trustees sets policy for the College and is responsible for ensuring that the institutional mission is carried out. Among its numerous responsibilities, the Board approves the College plan, is responsible for the management and control of the institution, has the power to appoint administrative and teaching staff, sets the tuition rate, and approves fees. The Board also reviews fiscal matters and approves budgets.

Board of Trustees
Scott A. Green Scott A. Green

Executive Director, Delaware River
and Bay Authority
B.A., University of Delaware
J.D., American University, Washington
College of Law
John M. Maiorano John M. Maiorano
Vice Chairman

Member, New Castle County
Owner, My World Travel
B.A., University of Delaware
M.A., Middlebury College/
University of Maine
William G. Bush, IV. Esq William G. Bush, IV. Esq.
Member, Kent County
B.S., University of Delaware
J.D., Widener University
School of Law
Norman D. Griffiths, Esq. Norman D. Griffiths, Esq.
Member, City of Wilmington
Attorney, Dupont Company Retired
B.S., American University
J.D., Catholic University/Columbus School of Law
Patti A. Grimes Patti A. Grimes
Member, Sussex County
Executive Director, Carl M. Freeman Foundation and Joshua M. Freeman Foundation
B.S., James Madison University
Robert E. Hagerty Robert E. Hagerty
Technology Director and Managing Director, JPMorgan Chase
B.S., Shippensburg University
Audrey Van Luven Audrey Van Luven
Senior Vice President and
Chief Human Resources Officer
Christiana Care Health System
A.A.S., Delaware Technical Community College
B.S., Wesley College
M.S., Wilmington University
President Emeritus
Dr. Orlando J. George, Jr. Dr. Orlando J. George, Jr.
President Emeritus

B.A., University of Delaware
M.Ed., University of Delaware
Ed.D., University of Delaware

President'S Office

The President's Office maintains an administrative staff to provide Collegewide leadership and perform specialized administrative and service roles for the Institution. These roles include strategic planning, institutional research, institutional effectiveness, marketing and public relations, human resources, legal affairs, college relations, computer services, academic affairs, curriculum development, student affairs, workforce development and community education, international education, purchasing, financial planning, and accounting. In addition, each campus has its own administration with leadership provided by the Vice President and Campus Director.

Accreditation Statement

The College and its campuses are accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, 3624 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104. (267-284-5000). The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. In addition, several curricula have earned program-based accreditation by various professional organizations.

The Delaware Technical Community College Educational Foundation

The College exists to improve the quality of life for all Delawareans through education and training. In order to fulfill its mission, the College requires private support to maintain excellence in its offerings. Established in 1968, Delaware Technical Community College's Educational Foundation provides funding for student scholarships, staff development projects, and specialized equipment. Gifts may be given to the Foundation and designated for specific purposes. The Educational Foundation provides an opportunity for members of the community, College employees, alumni, students, and corporations to actively participate in the continued development of Delaware Technical Community College.