Tuition & Fees
(for the 2016-2017 academic year)
|In-State Students||Out-of-State Students|
|1-14 credit hours||$139.75 per credit||$349.50 per credit|
|15+ credit hours||$2,096.25 per semester||$5,242.50 per semester|
|Registration Fee*||$15.00 per semester|
|Student Service Fee*||$10.00 per semester (part-time students < 12 credit hours)
$20.00 per semester (full-time students with 12+ credit hours)
|Technology Support Fee*||$9.00 per credit|
|Lab Fees*||Vary by course. The most current lab fees can be found in the class schedule listing.|
|Late Registration Fee*||$25.00 per semester (if applicable)|
|*Additional information about fees is provided below.|
All tuition and fees are subject to revision by the Board of Trustees of the College.
Students registered for 12 credit hours per semester or the equivalent are considered "full-time." Full-time students are encouraged to take at least 15 credits per semester in order to accelerate degree completion.
Tuition may be paid online through Self-Service Banner or at any of the campus Business Offices.
Tuition for Workforce Development and Community Education classes will be charged on a per course basis. Learn more about Workforce Development and Community Education classes.The tuition and fees paid by any student, other than a non-immigrant alien within the meaning of paragraph (15) of subsection (a) of Section 1101 of Title 8 of the U. S. Code, who meets all the following requirements shall be paid at a rate or charge no greater than that imposed for students who are Delaware residents if such student:
a. Attended a high school located within the State of Delaware for two or more years; and
b. Graduated from a high school located in the State of Delaware or received a General Equivalency Diploma issued within the State of Delaware and
c. Has applied for attendance within five years of receiving a high school diploma or General Equivalency Diploma.
A student without lawful immigration status shall also be required to file an affidavit stating that the student has filed an application to legalize his or her immigration status, or will file such an application as soon as he or she is eligible to do so.
Members of the United States Armed Forces readmitted under 34 C.F.R. §668.18, or any superseding regulation, into the same program the student was admitted at the time of entry into military service shall be charged the tuition and fees that were in effect when the student left to serve, unless any increase of the prior amount is covered by the student’s service member educational benefits. Members of the United States Armed Forces readmitted under 34 C.F.R.§668.18, or any superseding regulation,into a different program than that which the student was previously admitted shall not be charged tuition and fees in excess of what the College charges otherstudents for the same program. The tuition benefits provided herein shall only apply for the first academic year after readmission. All terms in this Policy shall be construed as set forth by federal law.
Senior Citizen Tuition PolicyResidents of the State of Delaware who are 60 years old or older may enroll at Delaware Tech tuition free, in any catalog course, technical or related studies, day or evening. Delaware Tech/University of Delaware AA Program credit courses are also included. Special interest courses are excluded. Persons eligible for this privilege are not required to pay course registration or other related fees. They shall pay the cost of all books, supplies, laboratory/ material fees, and shop fees. The Student Services fee is waived. This privilege may be limited or denied in courses for which selective admissions criteria have been established. This privilege is granted on a space-available basis.
- Residency status is determined when a student first registers at the College and when reentering after an absence. Students whose in-state status (see items 3. and 4. below) changes will be charged out-of-state tuition when they re-register at the College.
- A student may have his/her residency status changed for a future semester's registration period if the student provides documentation that he/she has met the requirements in items 3. and 4. below.
- Students 18 years old or older are considered to be Delaware residents if one of the following conditions are met immediately prior to registration:
- Delaware has been their domicile and continuous residence for at least six (6) months.
- They have been employed (full-time) at least 30 hours per week in Delaware for at least six (6) consecutive months, or
- They were dependents of their parents or guardians, who met the Delaware residency requirements above. The student must have been a dependent, as defined by the Internal Revenue Service, in the tax year immediately preceding the current College fiscal year. A copy of IRS Form 1040 or Form 1040A, or a state income tax return showing the student is a dependent, is the only acceptable documentation.
- Students who are minors (under 18 years old) are considered to be Delaware residents if their parent or guardian meet one of the following conditions immediately prior to registration:
- Delaware has been their domicile and continuous residence for at least six (6) months, or
- They have been employed full-time in Delaware for at least six (6) consecutive month
- Conditions for foreign students:
- Students who are permanent or temporary resident aliens are considered to be Delaware residents if they meet the residency requirements in items 3. and 4. above. The six-month period of domicile and continuous residence commences when the student has received an INS Form I-797 indicating receipt of an application for such immigration status.
- A student who has sought the protection of the United States by applying for refugee, asylee, parolee or temporary protected status may be entitled to in-state status if such student otherwise qualifies for in-state tuition based on six months domicile and continuous residence in Delaware from the date of the applicable INS Form I-797 or at least six (6) consecutive month's full-time employment in Delaware immediately prior to registration.
- A student who is present in the United States and has an immigration status that does not require such student to maintain a foreign domicile as a condition of immigration status may acquire in-state status if such student otherwise meets the six (6) month domicile and continuous residence and/ or six (6) consecutive month full-time employment in Delaware requirement immediately prior to registration.
- A student with an F, J or M visa or who otherwise must not abandon or has no intention of abandoning his or her residence in a foreign country will not be afforded in-state status.
- Documentation establishing residency or Delaware employment shall be required for all new or reactivated students.
A. Documentation of residency shall require one of the following:
- Delaware driver's license or Delaware identification card dated at least six months prior registration.
- A copy of a Delaware Resident Income Tax Form in the name of the student or the student's parent, legal guardian or spouse with whom the student resides listing a date of residency at least six (6) months prior to registration.
- Copies of utility bills in the name of the student or the student's parent, legal guardian or spouse with whom the student resides for six (6) consecutive months prior to registration.
- A copy of a fully executed lease, HUD-1 settlement statement or deed in the name of the student or the student's parent, legal guardian or spouse with whom the student resides dated at least six (6) months prior to registration.
- Copies of bank statements in the name of the student or the student's parent, legal guardian or spouse with whom the student resides for six (6) consecutive months prior to registration and bearing a Delaware address (other than a post office box.)
- Copies of official documents confirming the receipt of any type of social service assistance from the State of Delaware or any political subdivision thereof (i.e. WIC benefits, food stamps, Medicaid, etc.) in the name of the student or the student's parent, legal guardian or spouse with whom the student resides for six (6) consecutive months prior to registration.
B. Documentation of Delaware employment shall require all of the following:
- Pay stubs or other official written confirmation from an employer demonstrating that the student or the student's parent, legal guardian or spouse with whom student resides has worked an average of at least 30 hours per week during the six (6) consecutive months prior to registration. A letter from the employer on the employer's letterhead shall be sufficient.
- IRS Form W-2 showing payment of Delaware income taxes or a copy of any state income tax return for the immediately preceding tax year showing the payment of income taxes to the State of Delaware.
- Residency status shall be determined by the Registrar's Office at the student's home campus. Chief Legal Counsel may approve the payment of in-state tuition based upon documentation that is not listed in paragraph 6. when he or she determines that such documentation is authentic and represents proof of Delaware residency or employment.
- This policy is primarily for tuition payment purposes and is not applicable for determination of student financial aid eligibility.
- Implementation details for this policy may be specified in the College's Manual of Procedural Guidelines.
- Active duty military personnel and their dependents stationed in the State of Delaware are exempt from the six (6) month residency requirement and are considered in-state residents for tuition purposes.
In addition, military, civilian and contractor personnel and their dependents that are reassigned to Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland from Ft. Monmouth, New Jersey on or before September 15, 2011, and chose to reside in Delaware shall be exempt from the six (6) month residency requirement and shall be considered in-state residents for purposes of tuition.
- Veterans or related individuals are exempt from the six (6) month residency requirement above and are considered in-state residents for tuition purposes so long as the student:
- Has a residence in Delaware (regardless of duration); and
- Receives Montgomery and post 9/11 GI Bill educational assistance; and
- Enrolls within 3 years of student's discharge after student serving 90 days or more on active duty; or
- Enrolls, using transferred entitlement, within 3 years of the transferor's discharge after transferor serving 90 days or more on active duty; or
- Enrolls within 3 years of an active duty Service member's death in the line of duty after serving 90 days or more in the case of Surviving Spouses or Children under the Fry Scholarship; or
- Remains continuously enrolled after initially meeting the requirements of this subparagraph and is using assistance provided under Chapter 30 or 33 of Title 38 of the United States Code.
- The foregoing is adopted to comply with Section 702 of the Veterans Access, Choice and Accountability Act of 2014 in order to prevent disapproval of courses by the Secretary of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.
Installment Payment PlanFall and Spring Semesters:
Students may use the College's Installment Payment Plan. The amount of the first payment is equal to one-third of the total tuition and course fees. The second installment payment is equal to one-half of the remaining account balance, and it is due four (4) weeks from the beginning of the semester. The third and final installment payment is due eight (8) weeks from the beginning of the semester, and it is equal to the remaining account balance.
Students may use the College's Summer Installment Payment Plan. The first installment payment is due at the time of registration. The amount of this payment is equal to one-third of the total tuition and course fees. The second installment payment is equal to one-half of the remaining account balance, and it is due three (3) weeks from the beginning of the semester. The third and final installment payment is due six (6) weeks from the beginning of the semester, and it is equal to the remaining account balance.Important: Final payment must be made prior to the first day of registration for the following semester. A data hold will be placed on any student account that has a past due balance, and delinquent accounts are referred to a third party collections agency.
Tuition/fee Adjustment Policy Course Or Semester WithdrawalTo receive an adjustment for a course drop, the student must first officially drop the course. See Course Drop procedure or Registrar for details on officially dropping a course. To receive an adjustment for a semester withdrawal, the student must first officially withdraw from all courses. Students will not be charged any tuition or refundable fees (lab, technology support and telecourse) for courses dropped during the first week of the session. Students will be responsible for 50% of the assessed tuition and refundable fees for courses dropped during the second week of the session. After the second week, any courses dropped are not refundable. The following fees are non-refundable: registration, late registration, student services, credit by examination, and evaluation of work experience. The official drop/add/withdrawal period for each session is listed on the academic calendar.
Earned Title Iv Financial AidStudents who receive federal financial aid are eligible for payment according to their enrollment status and attendance. Students who attend more than 60 percent of a semester (approximately 9.6 weeks of a 16 week semester) are eligible to receive 100 percent of their payment. Students who attend 60 percent or less of a semester are eligible to receive a percentage of their payment, depending on the date of withdrawal from all classes. This percentage payment is done according to the Return of Title IV Funds Regulations. (34 CFR 668.22)
- If the amount of earned federal financial aid is not adequate to pay institutional charges, the student is liable for any outstanding debt the student may owe the college. In addition, the student may be responsible for repaying a portion of his/her federal financial aid to the federal government.
- Earnings from the Federal Work Study Program are not used in this calculation. The student is paid what he/she earns.
- Students receiving loans must maintain half-time enrollment (at least 6 credits) in order to receive payment of the loan.
- Basic-level courses (courses beginning with 00) do not count toward enrollment status for Title IV Funds.
This policy applies to federal financial aid money only and will be the policy applied to students who withdraw from all classes.
The date of withdrawal from all classes that will be used in the calculation is the date that the Registrar's Office processes the official College Withdrawal Form used by students who wish to withdraw from all their classes during the semester. Students must contact the Registrar's Office to obtain this form. The withdrawal date for students who drop all their classes without using the official College Withdrawal Form will be the last documented dates of attendance or the mid-point (50% point) of the semester without documentation. Withdrawing from the College may affect a student's eligibility for future financial aid funding.
Federal law requires that students who receive federal financial aid must attend the classes for which they register in order to receive financial aid payment. Students who never attend a class will not receive any federal financial aid relating to that class, even if an official drop/withdrawal procedure is completed.
The complete policy and additional information about financial aid are available on the Delaware Tech Web page, www.dtcc.edu/financialaid, that provides ongoing updates to all financial aid opportunities and the College's refund policies.
Books & SuppliesBooks and supplies vary in cost according to course requirements. Instructors will inform students about texts, supplies and materials required in each course. This information is also available on the College's website.
Malpractice InsuranceStudents enrolled in allied health and nursing programs are required to purchase malpractice insurance through Delaware Technical Community College.
Student Service FeeFor students taking credit courses, a nonrefundable fee of $20 per semester for full-time students and $10 per semester for part-time students will be charged by each campus. Senior citizens are exempt from paying this fee. The Delaware Tech/University of Delaware Associates in Arts Degree Program student service fee is the same.
Lab FeesFees vary -- $12 per lab hour up to a maximum of 6 hours or $72 per course. There are program specified exceptions wherein the lab fees may be less or more, depending on program needs. Industrial education course lab fees are determined by the specialized equipment utilized in the course.
Registration FeeAll students who register for fall, spring, and summer sessions will be assessed a $15.00 Registration Fee per session for credit courses only. Students can make registration changes without an additional fee being charged. The Registration Fee is non-refundable.
Technology Support Fee$9.00 per credit hour per semester to support cost of technology, instructional/course materials, and Internet e-mail/access for all credits taken.
Late Registration FeeStudents registering on or after the first day of the session,will be charged a late registration fee of $25. The fee may be waived by the campus Dean of Student Affairs for the following reasons: (1) a disabling accident, certified by a physician; (2) a serious illness, certified by a physician; or, (3) campus or College functions that are beyond the control of the student, such as campus closings or problems with administrative systems.
The late registration fee is to apply only to credit courses and other courses listed in the College catalog. The fee will not apply to students who register during the open registration period and find a need to add courses afterward.
Evaluation Of Prior Learning/work Experience FeeFor students seeking College credit through the evaluation of prior learning or work experience, a fee equivalent to tuition for a one-credit course will be charged for each course in which a student requests credit, effective with the fall semester 1993.
Other Fees And Charges
- Credit by Examination Fee
- Graduation Fee - $25
- Additional fees or changes to existing fees are subject to action by the Board of Trustees.
Students will be responsible for reimbursing the College for payments made to third parties on their behalf for charges such as online access for distance education courses, telecourse rental fees, student malpractice insurance, etc. These "pass through" charges are non-refundable.
Financial Aid Student Financial Assistance ProgramsThe College offers financial assistance to students through federal, state, institutional and scholarship programs. Financial aid information is available on the Delaware Tech Web site at https://www.dtcc.edu/admissions-financial-aid/financial-aid-scholarships. Students are encouraged to use these resources.
The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and scholarship applications may be obtained from the Financial Aid Office at each campus or on the Web at www.fafsa.ed.gov. Follow the instructions included with the application(s) to apply for any type of financial assistance. All students are encouraged to apply for financial aid as early as possible - before the start of a new academic year. It is important to ask questions, read all information carefully, keep copies of everything, and answer all questions on the application(s) accurately. The Financial Aid Office makes all decisions regarding financial aid eligibility.
For more information call:
General Student Eligibility Requirements For All Financial Aid ProgramsThe applicant must:
- Be a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen.
- Have a high school diploma, a GED®, or demonstrate the ability to benefit from instruction by passing an approved test.
- Have a valid Social Security number.
- Be enrolled as a regular student in an eligible program of study leading to a degree or diploma. New students must apply for admission in order to select a major/program. Undeclared or nondegree seeking students (students with program designation UND or NASNAD) are not eligible for financial aid.
- Maintain satisfactory academic progress as defined by the College's Academic Standing Policy for financial aid recipients.
- Not be in default on a previous student loan nor owe a refund on any federal grant received at Delaware Tech or any other institution the applicant may have attended.
- Demonstrate financial need based on federal or institutional policies.
- Comply with all procedures for verification.
- Meet any other legal requirements passed into law and regulation at any time by the federal government, or any policy change made by the College or any other applicable entity, and any procedure required by the Financial Aid Office in order to ensure that a proper financial aid decision can be made.
Applying For Financial AidThe College will attempt to assist any student seeking financial aid. Financial aid eligibility decisions for all financial aid programs are made by each individual campus.
A student seeking financial aid must apply to the campus he/she will attend.
The steps for applying for financial aid are as follows:
- Apply each academic year.
- Students are encouraged to apply online at FAFSA.ED.GOV or mail the application in the envelope provided.
- Obtain the financial aid application (the Free Application for Federal Student Aid-FAFSA) from any campus. This application is appropriate for applying for all types of federal, state and institutional aid. Scholarship programs require a separate application.
- Complete the FAFSA using the appropriate federal 1040 income tax form, as filed by the students and parents, and any other supporting documents such as W-2 forms, state tax returns and Social Security, welfare, bank and investment statements.
- Complete all institutional forms and supporting documentation as requested by the campus.
- The campus will receive an electronic Institutional Student Information Record, which will be used to determine eligibility for financial aid. Students will receive an electronic or a paper Student Aid Report.
ScholarshipsVarious scholarships are offered at all campuses. A student should contact the Financial Aid Office, at the campus where he/she is enrolled, for a list of scholarships offered at that campus. Scholarship information is also available on the College's website.
Veterans, Service Members And Dependents Of Deceased/disabled Veterans And Service Members
Delaware Technical Community College is approved for the educational training of veterans, qualified spouses, and dependents of deceased/ disabled veterans under Public Law 89-358. Veterans and dependents of deceased/disabled veterans interested in obtaining information and applying for benefits should contact the Office of Veterans Affairs at the campus they plan to attend.
Veterans seeking educational VA benefits for the first time must submit a copy of their Service Discharge Form DD-214, DD-215 or DD Form 2384-1 to the Office of Veterans Affairs and complete a VA Form 22-1990, Application for VA Educational Benefits. Dependents of deceased/disabled veterans seeking educational VA benefits for the first time must complete and submit a VA Form 22-5490, Application for Survivors' and Dependents' Educational Assistance. These forms are available in the Office of Veterans Affairs.
The Department of Veterans Affairs issue a Certificate of Eligibility to the applicant as verification of entitlement. All veterans and dependents of deceased/disabled veterans must complete the College admission process before educational benefits can be received.For information about the Priority of Service Policy for Veterans and Eligible Service Members, visit the Priority of Service Policy (Student Handbook, College Catalog).